Friday, 13 April 2012

Cold, grey walk round Curbar Edge/Baslow/Froggatt)

Here are some pics of our walk on Good Friday (the one I didn't organise very well!).  We started at Curbar Gap and admired the grey, rather angry views of the valley below.



Minty found some snow to cool her paws on.


Here she is looking somewhat perplexed as to why I had plonked her on a big rock for no good reason.  Answer:  I remembered a sunny photo I had taken a couple of years ago of Shelagh sitting in the hole in this very rock and wanted to reproduce it.  I couldn't reproduce it, however, as the hole was now full of icy meltwater.  Hey ho, you've got to try these things...


And here is Richard looking somewhat perplexed as to why he is on top of a big hill in the biting cold when he could be sitting in front of a fire with weekend football on the telly.  Answer: because I made him and it's good for us!


Shelagh slurps nasty looking water.  But it's not dirty, honest, just peaty.


A big rock.  Can you see the evil toad face in it??  No? Just me then....books shrink appointment....


Highland cow observes madman....


Hang on, I tell a lie, that cow isn't observing anything through that fringe.  (Thought you'd like the ginger, Peridot!)


The view of the green valley below, Chatworth House in the distance.


Then the lovely downhill tramp along farm lanes into the pretty (although somewhat "southern looking") village of Baslow. 


Baslow is an odd one in the Peak District.  It's rather "posh".  All quaint interior shops selling frenchified dressers and heinously expensive knick knacks.  As well as those shops, there's a deli, florist, childrens' toy shop (the sort that only sells wooden stuff that kids don't want), art gallery, bistro, cafe, snooty dress agency, old fashioned sweet shop and a few pubs and restaurants but the only opened Spar a couple of years ago!  It's that sort of place.

Don't get me wrong, it's very pretty and there's a lovely cricket pitch with pavilion and bowling green  but I wouldn't want to live there even if I could afford it.  I think it fancies itself because it's right next door to Chatsworth but, really, all that means is that the traffic can get terrible when there's something on at Chatsworth!!


Richard on the bridge at Baslow crossing to the Bubnell side.  He's not scratching his backside, he's trying to save Minty from diving in front of the car that's approaching us!


Nice houses backing onto the river.  Must be lovely in summer. And winter for that matter.


A sign of the times.  Anti-poaching signage in, I assume, Polish.  It is, I'm told by our local fisheries manager, a big problem.  Whereas UK anglers usually catch and release, the Eastern Europeans eat fish we do not so lots of the bigger, older carp are being taken, thus reducing breeding stock.  Not to mention the expensively introduced trout!!


I love these hosues...the pretty aubretia just beginning to blossom.  Last time I walked along here it was summer and I had a long chat with the old lady who lives here who was weeding the gravel bed further down.  She was really nice.  Hope she is still hale and hearty.


Looking back up to where we have come from  over the river.



Shelagh stops for a swim at a bend in the river.  Brrrr


 A very fancy barn at Calver.  Why does a barn need a clock tower, carved columns and ornate windows I wonder?


Walking along the mill race from Calver to Froggatt.  You can walk along the riverbank on the other side and, to be honest, having done both now, the river side is prettier.


Crossing the river at Froggatt.


You can see these houses from the road on the other side of the valley.  I remember this house being built and remember thinking - that is one massive lawn!  It is huge, must take ages to mow even on a ride-on.  The newly created pond is a bit poncey though.  Sigh - ignore me, I'm just jealous...


Pretty riverside path with daffodils - I'm beginning to regret the hill we have still to climb.


It is STEEP.  Not only that, I took the wrong path and ended up going straight up rather than on a daigonal.  Whoops.  As I said, schoolgirl errors all round.


Too tired for many pics of the ascent but here we are just below the Edge and almost back at the car.  Majestic eh?

Wednesday, 11 April 2012

Still got some snow left...so....

In honour of the strange and changeable weather we have been experiencing recently I thought I'd post my latest snow pics.  I took these last Wednesday in a blizzard of wet slushy snow.  Well, wet and slushy here in the village but 10 inches deep and drifting up on the tops!

I worked from home and stuck it out until lunchtime before venturing out to go and buy milk.  Yes, it was so bad that I managed without a cup of tea until lunchtime!!

Peri - I tried to go without boots but, as you can see, it was too cold and wet.....boooo! 



Boots safely affixed we set off.  The snow was driving into my eyes so it was not very pleasant.  But not a long walk to the shop so I can't whinge too much.



The dogs always find something to interest them.



And there is always something pretty to look at even in a grey little village like Bradwell.


Anyway, I'm sure you're all on the edge of your seats waiting to hear how I got on last night at WI??  No?  Well, you're going to hear about it anyway as I dropped 2 whole lbs!  Count them - 2!

I think the Tuesday evening run contributed to that loss but I wanted so much to post a total and keep the pressure on so think it was worth it even if it could be seen as "cheating".

So, only 3 lbs to go until my half stone reward. The thought of it it is really motivating me.  The first time ever that I have cared about a scheduled reward.   Which just goes to show that, even if you've been dieting for aeons like me, it is always worth trying new things or old things which might not have worked before.  If you feel yourself getting stale, rethink your strategy!

I played golf this morning and carried my clubs rather than using the big electric trolley.  I've always kind of fancied carrying, it's what the "cool" golfers do, but have been a bit concerned that it will tire me out and take away energy which I need for the golf itself.  I carried today as I was not 100% sure that my trolley battery had charged properly so thought I'd give it a go.  And it was great!  Liberating and not tiring at all.  In fact I feel less weary today than I usually do.  Who knew?

We had a proper "four seasons in one day" round with warm sunshine, fresh breezes, gentle rain, freezing, driving hail and rain and grey mist alternating all morning but my 'Barney' purple waterproofs once again aquitted themselves well and I even got a birdie in the middle of the hail storm!

I played in a pairs comp with a another woman of around my age (believe me, we are a rare breed in the golf club world).  She is fun and lovely and we played pretty well together after a slow start, which is good as we're signed up for the pairs knockout together all summer! She's a good golfer too - plays off 6 compared to my 18 so hopefully I'll pick up some tips.

So, wish me luck for next week.  There is no away game with accompanying day on the beer this weekend.  Well, there is but we are not, amazingly, going to Colchester but instead are staying at home and doing the garden!  What a breakthrough.  So, hopefully diet-wise I might make some progress.

Easter Review

We had a packed programe of events for the Easter weekend as you would expect and it was lovely. Knowing what was to come, though, we started with a "nothing" day on Friday. A lovely long lie-in, pancakes for breakfast (not SW compliant but I didn't have anything else in the house!) followed by a long, cold walk in the afternoon.


You'd think I never go for a walk as I made so many schoolgirl errors in the planning, or lack of it, of this one! Firstly, 3 measly pancakes do not provide sufficient fuel for a long, cold walk! We were starving by the time we got about halfway round!! Secondly, I parked at the TOP of a massive hill. Stupid woman. So we walked along Curbar Edge, down the big hill to Baslow, along the river to Froggatt and then, when we were chilled through, had achy legs and were tired and hungry, we had to tackle the massive and very steep hill back to the car. As I said, schoolgirl!


But it was great to be out for a few hours blowing the cobwebs away and watching the dogs pootling around the rocks, fields, heather moortop, river and woodland. My photos are not great as it was pretty dark and murky but at least we didn't get wet.


Saturday was another marathon but of a different sort. We went to the away game against Huddersfield which entailed meeting up in the pub by 10 for a lunchtime kick-off. I really tried to limit my beer intake, honest, missing out rounds and throwing in the odd diet coke but even so, the tally was too high at 3 pints and a bottle of lager. And the food was woeful too. I made a big breakfast before we went in the hope that this would stop me eating junk. Well, it did but we were ravenous by late afternoon and the choice was very limited - so a cheeseburger it was. And then someone sent round free chips!! Aaaargh.


I must try to learn from this. I did save up as many syns as I could prior to the day out so I suppose the beer was countable and not too fatal. I should NOT have had the extra, impulse bottle at the ground though. And I will take sandwiches or something to eat on the coach next time - at least this will keep me away from the rubbish burger/pie/chips option which I don't even like!


But, I'm not going to beat myself up as it was a cracking day out! Huddersfield are not only local, Yorkshire rivals but also only one place behind us in the table. They are, like us, still in the hunt for automatic promotion behind our other rivals, Sheffield United. So we had a massive boost following a 2-nil victory and played extremely well. Bliss. I think the battle is now just realistically between us and United but, unfortunately for us, United will keep on winning as well - it's most inconvenient!!


Sunday was a cool breezy and slightly drizzley day so golf it was! I played a social round with my golf buddy Nigel while Rich went up to his club for a competition. I got right back on track diet wise which I was pleased about. I nearly weakened and opened a bottle of wine to go with the Sunday roast but Rich helped keep me on the straight and narrow. So, full of fresh air after golf and dog walking and Sunday dinner, we settled down in front of the fire and TV for yet another marathon, this time watching the final round of the Masters at Augusta. What a competition! So many twists and turns and brilliant golf. Perfect.


And that just leaves Monday. More football watching. This time we were at home so not (quite) as much beer and healthier food. My pal Kerry turned up and we had a great laugh. And the football wasn't bad either. They didn't play well in the first half but still managed a 3-nil victory. Happy smiles all round.


And now I'm going to come back down to earth with a bump. Weigh-in tonight! What sadist planned that then? I will be lucky to scrape any sort of loss but am ever hopeful!


Wednesday, 4 April 2012

Snowing! (and WI news)

I know everyone is saying the same thing but this is bizarre!  Last week I was wearing shorts and a tee shirt while playing golf in the sunshine and even picking up a bit of of a tan.  Today it is chucking it down with snow.  We have a couple of inches of fluffy, settled snow and lots more blasting out of the sky on the gale force winds.  Who knows what it is like at the top of the hill?? If it slows down this afternoon I'll head up there for a look and let you know.

At the moment though, I'm working from home (yes, I see the irony but I'm having my breakfast...).  What a boon - no getting up, dressing in inappropriate clothes and crawling to work on dangerous, slippery roads, worrying about it getting worse and how I'm going to get home.  I just get up, sling something warm on and wander next door to my laptop.  Bliss.

Anyway, this was meant to be a quick update post regarding my weigh-in last night.  It was slightly disappointing in that I only dropped 0.5lb.  However, I went, I lost, I stayed to class and I emerged re-motivated once more.  I also suspect TOTM issues as I still feel very bloated.

The class was quite full and somewhat annoying slow which prompted me to (discreetly) pull out my SW book and leaf through.  What a revelation (for a slow bear like myself)!  I need to do more of that!  I realised how far I have strayed from the actual SW plan.  How daft am I?  Thinking that just saying that I'm following the plan, being "good" in a vague way of turning down some food and drink and turning up to WI once a week means that I'm really doing the diet.  Erm, not so much...

So today I'm re-focussing on the actual SW plan.  Counting again and checking the book.  I also had a chat with Rich last night about the amount of socialising we're doing.  We've been spending too much for one thing but it also makes it harder to stay strong diet-wise.  He agreed so we're going to cut back a bit and keep an eye on social plans from both perspectives.  For example, we're going away to the Huddersfield game on Saturday and, instead of getting to the pub at crack of dawn and having 4 or 5 rounds (which would have cost a fair bit and also caused me major issues of temptation and empty calories) we are going to go later for a couple of rounds, I'll drive and won't feel deprived because we're only having a couple of rounds.  Simples.

So, I'd better get back to the grindstone.  Enjoy the snow if possible.

Tuesday, 3 April 2012

Trying, really trying....

 Time fo another run!! Some photos from my big run on Sunday afternoon.  I started out along the river route which I covered a few weeks ago so I'll start part way through at the point I turned off last time.  This time I carried on along the river going towards Hathersage.


 It was a coolish day , sunny but with a fresh breeze.  Perfect for running.



Crossing the stream over a little bridge - the dogs have to wait for slowcoach to let them through....



The wild garlic is coming up on the riverbank but hasn't blossomed yet.  It's usually lovely there.



I stopped to give the dogs a swim and spotted a weird tiny little pink plant.  I had no idea what it was so took a picture so that someone here might identify it.


Then  a few metres later I saw a bigger one and realised that it must be Gunnera...




I covet this house....


A self-timer picture of me and the girls about to start up another big hill!


I managed to run this far but was running out of puff by now (having been going almost solidly for over an hour).  This is the gorgeous view looking back towards Hathersage and Stanage Edge beyond.


We turned into field with sheep so I dutifully put the dogs onto the lead only to discover that it was a field of grouchy rams (or tups as they're known round here) banished while the ladies do the hard work of lambing.  The dogs ignored them (as they do all sheep) and they glared balefully at us...


Then into a (very steep) wooded hillside.  This is not a well-known valley in this area so was peaceful and deserted.  Magical.



Then we emerge near the top of the hill.  Wow!


I covet this Hall....(so does Minty by the look of it...).


Now we're back round to the Bamford side with views of Win Hill and Bamford Edge (as usual!)


And pretty daffs.


Then we're finish up in the hamlet of Shatton, stopping to let the dogs have a drink at the ford.


Anyway, back to more usual fayre:
 
I KNOW there is a serious school of thought which says I shouldn't weigh myself every day. But I've tried NOT weighing daily and I tend to drift off and lose a week here and there doing that. On balance weighing daily is, for me, the lesser of 2 evils. The trouble is, it is darned frustrating (note the ironic "darned" there!). I have a good couple of days food and exercise wise and duly see a drop on the scales - yay - the plan works, let's just stick at it and all will be well! Then, unfathomably, the scale jumps up, not by 1lb but 3, then drops again, then jumps. I truly don't know where the hell I am this week and, despite sticking to my guns, am not feeling the love for this evening's weigh in.


It is probably TOTM issues but I FEEL fat today despite having been restrained . C'mon the scales.....


In other news, it was a nice but underwhelming weekend. I had 2 house viewings on Saturday morning, one of which might be promising so get some fingers and toes crossed peeps! They caused me to miss out on a couple of pints of beer before the game too so a little less temptation there too.


The match itself was just awful. Preston came to stop us playing and the referee joined in for fun too so the first half was the most dreadful display of stop/start rubbish. Aaaargh. The second half was slightly better, more open and my team could get the ball down and play some football for, ooh, whole minutes at a time... We eventually won 2-nil but so did our nearest rival, Sheffield United so we're still in the same position - third, when we need to be second! It's looking like the play-offs for us this year which is going to be torment. Torment I tells ya....


Saturday night was a 40th Birthday party in a local pub and much fun. I had a glass of red and then decided that I was quite happy not to drink any more and to drive home. Go me. I spent the rest of the evening happily suppling down diet coke and felt great when I sprang out of bed on Sunday morning....which is more than can be said for Richard!! And he had to play golf at 9am....tee hee.


That left me with a spare morning and no plans to fill it. This is very rare for me but quite pleasant. I had been planning a run first thing but my chimp stepped in and whittled away until I no longer fancied it. Cue much internal chimp-management while doing chores round the house. Eventually I was sucessful. I decided to "go for a walk" but wearing my running gear and taking only my little camera. I then modified this to running for at least 20 minutes along the flat bit of the river and then walking for the rest of the route. Of course, once I got going, I was enjoying the running in the fresh, crispt sunshine. I ran for well over an hour and only stopped when the hill got too steep. Even once I had walked up the steep bits, I ran again when the route flattened out. The dogs loved it it of course and we were out for over 2 hours so not a bad job all in all. If I had said to my chimp - right we're going out for a 90 minute run and hilly walk, get your kit on! - she would have freaked out. But, because I eased her into it, said we only had to run for a short while on the flat and would walk the rest of the way, she was fine, loved it even and then didn't once think about stopping once we had got going. She's weird that chimp of mine!


Then yesterday was working from home and personal training - very hard on my sore post-run legs and dancing in the evening. This all sounds very virtuous....I'm starting to feel hopeful for tonight now - stop it Lesley - what will be, will be....


Wish me luck everyone, I need it this week!!